Director of Institute

Director of Institute



History of the Institute

A child, that practices the violin,
trains exactly what life needs:
Self-control and self-efficacy.

Manfred Spitzer, Neurodidacticist

Prof. Dr. med. Dipl. Mus. Alexander Schmidt, MD, MA, is Director of the Kurt-Singer-Institute for Music Physiology and Musicians’ Health (KSI) at the University of the Arts and Hanns Eisler School of Music Berlin and Head of the Berlin Center for Musicians’ Medicine (BCMM) at the Charité - University Medicine Berlin.

As Professor of Musicians’ Medicine (W3) he represents the entire field in clinic, research and teaching in Berlin. Among other things, he offers a special outpatient clinic for musicians at the BCMM, leads the prevention program for music students at the KSI as well as a job-related continuing education course in music physiology and musicians’ health certified by the University of the Arts.

Alexander Schmidt studied piano with Prof. W. Krajnew at the Hanover University of Music, Drama and Media Hanover and medicine at the Hanover Medical School. Subsequently he completed his Residency in Neurology at the Department of Neurology and the Institute of Neurogenetics at the University of Luebeck. He wrote his medical thesis at the Institute of Music Physiology and Musicians’ Medicine in Hanover and his postdoctoral thesis in (Experimental) Neurology at the University of Luebeck.

His scientific interests are among others musicians’ diseases, especially on the focal dystonia in musicians, the influence of music on health and development and the effects of making music on the brain.

He is author of numerous scientific publications, held invited lectures at national and international conferences, received several research prizes and and was successful in attracting third-party funding.

A. Schmidt

Since September 2017 he is board member of the German Association for Music Physiology and Musicians’ Medicine.

© 2017 KSI Berlin

NEWS      

Institutsleitung

Institutsleitung

Team
Sprechstunden
Forschung
Lehre
Kontakt



In
Kooperation
mit
Gefördert
von


Zur Geschichte des Instituts


Ein Kind, das Geige übt,
trainiert genau das,
was es im Leben braucht:
Selbstkontrolle und Selbstwirksamkeit.


Manfred Spitzer, Neurodidaktiker

Prof. Dr. med. Dipl. Mus. Alexander Schmidt ist Direktor des Kurt-Singer-Instituts für Musikphysiologie und Musikergesundheit (KSI) der Hochschule für Musik Hanns Eisler und der Universität der Künste Berlin sowie Leiter des Berliner Centrums für Musikermedizin (BCMM) an der Charité Universitätsmedizin Berlin.

Als W3-Professor für Musikermedizin vertritt er in Berlin das gesamte Fachgebiet in Klinik, Wissenschaft und Lehre. Er bietet u.a. eine Spezialsprechstunde für Musiker am BCMM an, leitet das Präventionsprogramm zur Musikergesundheit für Musikstudierende am KSI sowie einen von der Universität der Künste zertifizierten berufsbegleitenden musikphysiologischen und musikermedizinischen Weiterbildungskurs.

Alexander Schmidt studierte Klavier bei Prof. W. Krajnew an der Hochschule für Musik, Theater und Medien Hannover und Medizin an der Medizinischen Hochschule Hannover. Anschließend absolvierte er eine ärztlich-wissenschaftliche Ausbildung zum Facharzt für Neurologie an der Klinik für Neurologie und am Institut für Neurogenetik der Universität zu Lübeck. Er promovierte am Institut für Musikphysiologie und Musikermedizin in Hannover und habilitierte im Fachgebiet (Experimentelle) Neurologie an der Universität zu Lübeck.

Seine wissenschaftlichen Schwerpunkte liegen u.a. auf berufsbedingten Musikererkrankungen, insbesondere der fokalen Dystonie bei Musikern, dem Einfluss von Musik und Musizieren auf Gesundheit und Entwicklung sowie hirnphysiologischen und -pathophysiologischen Prozessen beim Musizieren.

Er ist Autor zahlreicher wissenschaftlicher Publikationen, hielt eingeladene Vorträge bei nationalen und internationalen Kongressen, erhielt mehrere Wissenschaftspreise und konnte erfolgreich Drittmittel einwerben.


A.Schmidt

Seit September 2017 ist er Vorstandsmitglied der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Musikphysiologie und Musikermedizin.

© 2017 KSI Berlin