NEWS

History of the Institute

Director of Institute
Team
Consultation
Research
Teaching
Contact



In
collaboration
with
Supported
by


History of the Institute



It's the magic of music.
It is also an instrument,
to forget the world
and understand it.


Daniel Barenboim

The Kurt-Singer-Institute for Music Physiology and Musician's Health (KSI) was founded in 2002 at the University of the Arts Berlin (UdK) and the Hanns Eisler School of Music Berlin (HfM).

Name patron is the Jewish physician and musicologist Kurt Singer, who headed a medical counselling centre at the Musikhochschule in Berlin from 1923 to 1932. This makes him the successor of surgeon Moritz Katzenstein. In addition, he held a teaching position for musicians’ diseases. He was released from his duties with the seizure of power by the Nazis and died in Theresienstadt concentration camp in 1944. The musicians’ medicine specialist Prof. Dr. med. Dipl. Mus. Alexander Schmidt has headed the institute since 2014.

In East Berlin/GDR, the medical care of musicians, dancers and artists was provided in the ambulatory Berlin stages, including examinations of their performance and fitness. In addition to a directly responsible company doctor, orthopaedic surgeons, ENT specialists, ophthalmologists and dentists also worked there. The singers were examined in the Phoniatric Department of the University Clinic for ENT-Medicine of the Charité.

Prof. Dr. med. Christoph Wagner, one of the pioneers of music physiology, founded the "Institut für experimentelle Musikpädagogik" (Institute for Experimental Music Pedagogy) in 1974 as the first institute of this kind in Germany and Europe. His work was intended to clarify the relationship between music physiology and musical practice. From 1979 it was called the "Institut für Musikphysiologie" (Institute for Music Physiology).

The Berlin Institute is, beside the institutes in Hanover an Dresden, the third of the institutes for music physiology founded in Germany. With its name, it is reminiscent of Kurt Singer and his concern to give the health of musicians an important place in music education.

From 1987 to 1990, Dr. Hartmut Puls established the Department of Physioprophylaxis at the Hanns Eisler School of Music Berlin, which was promoted by the first elected rector after the political turnaround, the pianist Professor Annerose Schmidt, as an elective compulsory part of the studies. As a result, the university was the first in Germany in which a movement subject became an obligatory part of the training of musicians.

Even before the foundation of the institute in 1996, a consulting session for musicians in and outside the university was set up at the former High School of Arts Berlin.

At the Hanns Eisler School of Music Berlin the subject "Physioprophylaxis" (Dr. Hartmut Puls) was integrated into the curriculum as a sports therapeutic prevention offer.

In May 2002 the present institute was founded in cooperation between the University of the Arts Berlin (UdK) and the Hanns Eisler School of Music Berlin (HfM).

    K. Singer

Kurt Bernhard Singer

* 11.10.1885, Berent (West Prussia)
† 07.02.1944, Ghetto Theresienstadt

Founding members were Prof. Dr. med. Helmut Möller (Director), Prof. Heide Görtz (Deputy Director), Prof. Dr. Ulrich Mahlert, Alexandra Müller, Prof. Markus Nyikos, Grazyna Przbylska-Angermann, Prof. Dr. Herbert Wiedemann (UdK), Prof. Kristin Guttenberg and Dr. Hartmut Puls (HfM). The establishment of such an inter-university institute was largely due to the dean of the former UdK Prof. Dr. Patrick Dinslage and the rector of the HfM Prof. Christhard Gössling.

The KSI bundled the various courses that had existed up to then and extended the range of courses to include medical / music-physiological counselling and support for music students, research into preventive measures and the management and supervision of the continuing vocational training course "Music Physiology in Artistic Everyday Life".

Since 2010, the KSI has been put on a broader basis on the initiative of Rector Prof. Weigle, the provisional head of the KSI Prof. Guttenberg and Alexandra Müller, and the Department of Audiology and Phoniatrics of the Charité under Prof. Dr. med. Manfred Gross, by including musicians’ medicine in a cooperation agreement with the Charité.

Prof. Dr. med. Tadeus Nawka, took over the provisional leadership in 2012 until 2014 Prof. Dr. med. Dipl. Mus. Alexander Schmidt was appointed.

© 2017 KSI Berlin

NEWS

Zur Geschichte des Instituts

Institutsleitung
Team
Sprechstunden
Forschung
Lehre
Kontakt



In
Kooperation
mit
Gefördert
von


Zur Geschichte des Instituts



Das ist der Zauber der Musik.
Sie ist gleichzeitig ein Instrument,
um die Welt zu vergessen
und um sie zu verstehen

Daniel Barenboim

Das Kurt-Singer-Institut für Musikphysiologie und Musikergesundheit (KSI) wurde im Jahr 2002 an der Universität der Künste Berlin (UdK) und der Hochschule für Musik Hanns Eisler Berlin (HfM) gegründet.

Namenspatron ist der jüdische Arzt und Musikwissenschaftler Kurt Singer, der von 1923 bis 1932 eine medizinische Beratungsstelle an der Musikhochschule in Berlin leitete. Damit ist er Nachfolger des Chirurgen Moritz Katzenstein. Darüber hinaus hatte er einen Lehrauftrag für Musikerkrankheiten inne. Er wurde mit der Machtergreifung der Nationalsozialisten seiner Tätigkeit entbunden und verstarb 1944 im KZ Theresienstadt. Seit 2014 leitet der Musikmediziner Prof. Dr. med. Dipl. Mus. Alexander Schmidt das Institut.

In Ost-Berlin/DDR erfolgte die medizinische Betreuung von Musikern, Tänzern und Artisten inklusive Einstellungs- und Tauglichkeitsuntersuchungen im Ambulatorium Berliner Bühnen. Neben einer direkt verantwortlichen Betriebsärztin waren dort auch Orthopäden, HNO-, Augen- und Zahnärzte tätig. Die Sänger wurden in der Phoniatrischen Abteilung der Universitätsklinik für HNO-Heilkunde der Charité betreut.

Prof. Dr. med. Christoph Wagner, einer der Pioniere der Musikphysiologie, gründete 1974 an der Hochschule für Musik und Theater in Hannover das „Institut für experimentelle Musikpädagogik“ als erstes Institut dieser Art in Deutschland und Europa. Seine Arbeit sollte die Beziehung zwischen Musikphysiologie und musikalischer Praxis verdeutlichen. Ab 1979 trug es den Namen „Institut für Musikphysiologie“.

Das Berliner Institut ist, nach Hannover und Dresden, das dritte der in Deutschland gegründeten Institute für Musikphysiologie. Es erinnert mit seiner Namensgebung an Kurt Singer und sein Anliegen, der Gesundheit von Musikern in der Ausbildung einen wichtigen Platz einzuräumen.

Von 1987 bis 1990 baute Dr. Hartmut Puls den Fachbereich Physioprophylaxe an der Hochschule für Musik Hanns Eisler auf, der von der ersten gewählten Rektorin nach der politischen Wende, der Pianistin Professor Annerose Schmidt, zum wahlobligatorischen Bestandteil des Studiums erhoben wurde. Damit war die Hochschule die erste in Deutschland, in der ein Bewegungsfach obligatorischer Bestandteil der Ausbildung von Musikern wurde.

Schon vor der Institutsgründung wurde 1996 an der damaligen Hochschule der Künste Berlin (HdK) eine Beratungssprechstunde für Musiker in und außerhalb der Hochschulen eingerichtet.

An der HfM Hanns Eisler wurde das Fach „Physioprophylaxe“ (Dr. Hartmut Puls) als sporttherapeutisches Präventionsangebot in den Lehrplan integriert.

Im Mai 2002 wurde das heutige Institut in Kooperation zwischen der Universität der Künste, Berlin und der Hochschule für Musik Hanns Eisler gegründet.

   K. Singer

Kurt Bernhard Singer

* 11.10.1885, Berent (Westpreußen)
† 07.02.1944, Ghetto Theresienstadt

Gründungsmitglieder waren Prof. Dr. med. Helmut Möller (Leitung), Prof. Heide Görtz (Stellvertretende Leitung), Prof. Dr. Ulrich Mahlert, Alexandra Müller, Prof. Markus Nyikos, Grazyna Przbylska-Angermann, Prof. Dr. Herbert Wiedemann (UdK), Prof. Kristin Guttenberg und Dr. Hartmut Puls (HfM). Die Einrichtung eines solchen hochschulübergreifenden Institutes war maßgeblich das Verdienst des damaligen Dekans der UdK Prof. Dr. Patrick Dinslage und des Rektors der HfM Prof. Christhard Gössling.

Das KSI bündelte die verschiedenen bis dahin bestehenden Lehrangebote und erweiterte das Angebot um medizinische / musikphysiologische Beratung und Begleitung der Musikstudierenden, um die Erforschung von Präventionsmaßnahmen und um die Leitung und Betreuung der berufsbegleitenden Weiterbildung „Musikphysiologie im künstlerischen Alltag“.

Seit 2010 wurde das KSI auf eine Initiative von Rektor Prof. Weigle, der kommissarischen Leitung des KSI Prof. Guttenberg und Alexandra Müller, und der Klinik für Audiologie und Phoniatrie der Charité unter Prof. Dr. med. Manfred Gross auf eine breitere Basis gestellt, indem durch einen Kooperationsvertrag mit der Charité auch die Musikermedizin einbezogen wurde.

Die kommissarische Leitung übernahm 2012 Prof. Dr. med. Tadeus Nawka, bis 2014 auf die ausgeschriebene Professur Dr. med. Dipl.-Mus. Alexander Schmidt berufen wurde.

© 2017 KSI Berlin